New shoes.

Friday, September 4th 09 at 9:52 pm Leave a comment

I keep trying to think up ways to reinvigorate my creativity

The truth is, the older I get, the more my patience with anything seems to wane. When I was in high school, I used to sit and paint and draw for hours upon hours, I’d spend even more time still, playing in Photoshop and Frontpage. When I first moved out on my own and didn’t have much to do with my time other than work, I used to go about with my camera and take pictures of everything. A couple years ago, I tried The Artist’s Way, which is an incredibly daunting project to undertake. I really wanted to commit to it and go all out with it, but in the end, all I did was write the Morning Pages for a few months before unceremoniously abandoning it. I left behind the place I’d been writing in for the past seven years and opened a new diary – which I did pretty good at for a while. Yet somewhere along the way, I lost my ability to sit and focus for any period of time (other than video games, those are no problem). Maybe all the Silent Hill and Guitar Hero has atrophied my brain.

The thing is, I’ve always been a fairly creative person but writing has always been my favourite means of expression. I like words a great deal and not much else gives me the pleasure that writing something really beautiful does. So I’m going to try again here because it all comes down to one thing: I miss writing.  Sometimes I feel so stifled because I don’t use any outlets to push out all the things going on in my head and heart. It’s my own fault, because I’ve got plenty of inspiration around me. I guess I’ve just gotten more lazy about it as I get older.

I want to change that starting today. I’m only twenty-five, I’ve got a beautiful girlfriend who’s good to me, and pretty soon we’re going to be starting a family that contains more than cats. I have a lot to be excited about. And really, just like always, I don’t want to miss or forget a thing.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Greatest Hits.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 9,713 visits

