A brief collection of things.

Friday, April 9th 10 at 12:02 pm Leave a comment

It’s been over a month since my quiet moment with John Lennon in the car and I always begin to feel a sick sense of anxiety if I don’t update for weeks at a time. I’m always hesitant to write things down without having a specific sense of direction because I’m constantly concerned that what I write will not be interesting enough for the readers I tell myself exist. Hesitant to update, but anxious when I don’t. It’s a vicious cycle, really. So for the sake of shrugging off self consciousness, onward.

For a little over a month now, Kristi and I have been going to the gym. I can’t say for certain if we’re getting results insomuch as inches or pounds lost, but I can tell you about one thing. Biceps. When I was doing yoga regularly, I was also setting myself to do as many push-ups as I could throughout the night at work. It helped increase my arm strength which is crucial for a successful downward facing dog, tell me I’m wrong. After I became yoga lazy, I continued my push-ups but that didn’t do much for me but make me feel like a sissy for still being unable to do them the “boy” way. Well listen here, I can lift weights like a boy. A very small and fairly weak boy, admittedly, but a boy nonetheless.  I’m not going for big muscle daddy arms, or anything like that. I just want Linda Hamilton (because let’s talk about how bad-ass she was in Terminator 2) strength and Michelle Obama (she’s so beautiful, right?) toning. I’m perfecting the art of pumping serious[ly minimal] iron – now I just need to develop some endurance because the elliptical kicks my ass every single day. We’ve been talking about it for a long time and I wish we had joined a gym years ago because I definitely am feeling better than ever before. It’s awesome.

Since I finished The Dark Tower series a couple months ago, I’ve been consuming and acquiring Stephen King novels at an alarming rate. I’ve always really loved reading and can’t believe that I’ve only recently gotten into his books. I have literally devoured ‘Salem’s Lot, the Shining, Carrie and Cell in days. I’m currently reading the Talisman but finding it a little difficult to get involved in. I’ve always found that if I’m trying to read something that I’m not extremely excited about, it will take me so much longer to get into. But I absolutely hate abandoning a story once I’ve begun, so I’ll press on. Even if I only manage fifty pages a night, it’s only 768 pages long so it can’t possibly take me too long to finish. I wouldn’t have such a difficult time picking something new to read if I wasn’t constantly buying new ones. Since having decided that I wanted to read pretty well everything that he’s written, I’ve taken to buying every Stephen King book I find at the Goodwill bookstore. Kristi tells me it is excessive and she doesn’t understand why I need an entire closet full of enormous hardback books that I don’t have time for yet. And I say that they make me happy and I am going to build a wall/room/house out of them, Sara Quin style. (I continue to persist that I will never own a Kindle or any such marvelous gadget.)

I have quit smoking.

If my second best friend was an internet magazine with clever info-graphics, a Lady Gaga obsession and lots of lists, it’d be Autostraddle. Oh let’s be realistic – my second best friend is an internet magazine with clever info-graphics, a Lady Gaga obsession and lots of lists. And I got to write a review of the PS3 game Heavy Rain for it.

Should we discuss how brilliant new Doctor Who is shaping up to be? Oh, I’m the only one who watches it? Because we don’t live in the United Kingdom, you say? Well, that’s just ridiculous.

I have three tastes in music and they are as follows:
Gay girl: Tegan and Sara, Ani DiFranco, acoustic guitars and feelings, anything featured on an L Word soundtrack.
Gay man: Madonna, Cher, glitter and thumpa-thumpa, anything featured on a Queer as Folk soundtrack.
Someone twice my age:  Elvis, Heart, Aerosmith, Pat Benatar.
Even though I have spent a great deal of workout hours pumping RuPaul and telling everyone not to be jealous of my boogie, I have recently been nurturing my inner “I’m old enough to be your mother.” It should be no surprise that I listen to an awful lot of Beatles, but I have also been completely smothering myself in Janis Joplin. Tonight I did something I swore I’d never do and I listened to a ton of Rolling Stones. And even though the cover for Sticky Fingers makes me really sad and uncomfortable, I have been pleasantly surprised to find that I kind of like it a lot. I was always averse to them kinda because Mick Jagger makes me squeamish; I’m not going to lie. I just can’t deny though, that this older stuff is so very good. I wish I grew up with this music.

Finally, and most importantly: I really love Kristi. It’s been almost five years since I began my campaign to win her heart. She is beautiful and funny and it is cute when she lies in bed and reads Augusten Burroughs. Oops, I wasn’t supposed to tell you that.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

It’ll be just like starting over. 30 Days: Day 1

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 9,713 visits

