30 Days: Day 4

Wednesday, May 5th 10 at 9:51 am Leave a comment

Day 04 → Your favorite book


This is one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read.

My copy was given to me by a dear friend and on the inside cover she writes to me, “In the autumn… soak in this empty, pain, and… be infinite.” The pages are filled with notes and the paragraphs are filled with underlines from the time she read it. And because of her scribbles, I felt okay with marking the pages as I went along too. Underlining passages that I found particularly beautiful, true or contained a piece of me inside it. Lines like “The brain appears to possess a special area which we might call poetic memory and which records everything that charms or touches us, that makes our lives beautiful.”

Though it has been many years since I’ve read it (it is a very heavy book – emotionally – to pick up, after all) it has occupied my poetic memory like nothing else has, or probably ever will.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

30 Days: Day 3 30 Days: Day 5

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 9,714 visits

