30 Days: Day 7

Monday, May 10th 10 at 1:42 pm Leave a comment

Day 07 → A photo that makes you sad

My Gramma, my mom and me. I took this the last time I saw her before I moved to California. I think it was the end of January. Everything felt so optimistic then, we didn’t know that she was sick. If I ever thought about it too hard – the fact that I was moving so far away from her – it really broke me down. But she never faltered in her steadfastness in front of me. I love my life in California and I wouldn’t want to do anything differently or change a thing about it. But sometimes, I wish I’d stayed. If I had known that there were only nine months left, I would have stayed.

I guess what it boils down to in the end is the same thing it always boils down to for everyone who’s ever lost someone they love: I just wish I’d had more time.

(Today was supposed to be a picture that made me happy, and that’s initially what this post started out as. But as I wrote about the picture, I realised that more than anything it just made me sad and want to hide under the covers. So tomorrow will be a happy picture.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

30 Days: Day 6 30 Days: Day 8

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 9,715 visits

