30 Days: Day 19

Friday, May 28th 10 at 1:37 pm Leave a comment

Day 19 → A talent of yours

Geeze, I don’t have as many of these as I used to think I did. I used to be a fairly good artist, but I haven’t drawn or painted anything in years. I used to be a pretty decent bass player, but I’ve forgotten completely how to do that. And I used to think I took pretty good live show photographs but, well… anyone can do that, can’t they? I guess, as we age, and life gets in the way, it’s more difficult to maintain and keep up with things we are talented at. Or maybe that is just my excuse to myself for not creating art anymore. I’m not sure.  But there is one thing I feel like I do pretty well, and also love doing.

I love to make mixes. Now, I never perfected the art of the mixtape, but that is because I never really understood how people were able to transfer the sound so cleanly. However, I love a good mixcd. It takes me days, sometimes weeks, to pore over my music collection to find the right songs to say what I’m trying to say. Then hours to move them all around into the right positions – listening as I go, making sure they sound right together.  When that’s all finished, I take my time creating art, a cover, for it. I love using Autostraddle’s DIY sleeve, because it is cute, you can do whatever you want with it, and it is way better looking than those slim jewel cases. Coming up with a perfect title for the mix is equally as important.

Is that a talent? I don’t know for sure. But it is something I love to do and I feel I’m pretty good at. A lot more goes in to making the perfect mix than just mashing a random collection of songs together on a blank cd. It’s like Rob Gordon tells us at the end of High Fidelity:

The making of a great compilation tape, like breaking up, is hard to do and takes ages longer than it might seem. You gotta kick off with a killer, to grab attention. Then you got to take it up a notch, but you don’t wanna blow your wad, so then you got to cool it off a notch. There are a lot of rules.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

30 Days: Day 18 30 Days: Day 20

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • 9,714 visits

